New Internet Engineering Steering Group and Internet Architecture Board Members Selected

Meeting for first time at 92nd Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting in Dallas, Texas, USA

[DALLAS, Texas] -- 25 March 2015 -- Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) met in person for the first time during the 92nd Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting this week in Dallas, Texas. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

The IAB is, among other responsibilities, a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) that provides oversight of, and occasional commentary on, aspects of the architecture for the protocols and procedures used by the Internet.. Current IAB members are:

* Jari Arkko, Ericsson, IETF Chair
* Mary Barnes, MLB@Realtime Communications, LLC
* Marc Blanchet, Viagénie
* Lars Eggert, NetApp, (ex officio as IRTF Chair)
* Ted Hardie, Google
* Joe Hildebrand, Cisco
* Russ Housley, Vigil Security, LLC
* Erik Nordmark, Arista
* Dave Thaler, Microsoft Corporation
* Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
* Ralph Droms, Cisco
* Robert Sparks, Oracle
* Andrew Sullivan, Dyn, Inc.
* Suzanne Woolf, Independent consultant

Andrew Sullivan was selected as IAB Chair. For more information on the IAB, see:

The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet Standards. The work of the IETF is organized by Areas. The IESG consists of the Area Directors (ADs), who are appointed for two years. The current IESG members, by Area, are:

Applications (APP)
* Barry Leiba, Huawei Technologies

Internet (INT):
* Brian Haberman, Johns Hopkins University
* Terry Manderson, ICANN

Operations (OPS):
* Benoit Claise, Cisco
* Joel Jaeggli, Fastly

Real-time Applications and Infrastructure (RAI):
* Ben Campbell, Oracle
* Alissa Cooper, Cisco

Routing (RTG):
* Alia Atlas, Juniper Networks
* Deborah Brungard, AT&T
* Alvaro Retana, Cisco

Security (SEC):
* Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin
* Kathleen Moriarty, EMC Corporation

Transport (TSV):
* Spencer Dawkins, Huawei Technologies
* Martin Stiemerling, NEC & Darmstadt University

Jari Arkko is IETF Chair and the Area Director for the General Area (GEN). For more information on the IESG, see:

The 2014-15 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Michael Richardson, was responsible for the deliberations on and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

About the Internet Architecture Board
The Internet Architecture Board (IAB) is chartered both as a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and as an advisory body of the Internet Society (ISOC). Its responsibilities include architectural oversight of IETF activities, Internet Standards Process oversight and appeal, and the appointment of the RFC Editor. The IAB is also responsible for the management of the IETF protocol parameter registries. For more information, see:

About the Internet Engineering Task Force
The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. The IETF seeks broad participation. The work of the IETF takes place online, largely through email lists, reducing barriers to participation and maximizing contributions from around the world. IETF Working Groups (WGs) are organized by topic into several areas (e.g., routing, transport, security, etc.). For more information, see: